Tire data for suspension design

Post here all non technical related topics about Formula One. This includes race results, discussions, testing analysis etc. TV coverage and other personal questions should be in Off topic chat.
koushikatti

Tire data for suspension design

hello,

I am a engineering graduate and have been a part of a formula student team for 2 consecutive years. My area of work in the team was vehicle dynamics. Currently i am trying to use tire data to optimise the suspension and the steering geometry that i designed for the last years car. I do not have any real time track data nor can i rely much on driver feedback , our drivers being pretty unexperienced. I have the tire data of AVON 13X6 tires. I have gone through quie a few articles related to tire data usage and have also gone through the relevant chapters in RCVD (Race Car Vehicle Dynamics by Milliken). Currently i already have a suspension geometry which i want to use as the starting point, the weight distribution, chasses stiffness and other relevent parameters of the car is known to me. For a given lateral accleration i know the vertical loads in eash tire through the lateral load transfer calculations. Now sice all the graphs in the tire data are related to the slip angles my primary concern is to find out a method (through some theoritical calculations) to know the slip angles of the tires for a given lateral acceleration. And this is where i am stuck. Can any one please guide me on how to progress with this?. And also how do i directly relate the slip angle of the front tires with the steering geometry?

Thanks!

Jersey Tom

Re: Tire data for suspension design