Idea: ban carbon fiber brake discs?

Post here all non technical related topics about Formula One. This includes race results, discussions, testing analysis etc. TV coverage and other personal questions should be in Off topic chat.
manicf1

Idea: ban carbon fiber brake discs?

Im by no means an expert like many on this forum, but I feel a great deal of the spectacle in F1 from the 80s was due to the longer braking distances, the cars sliding around corners and sparks. Sparks has recently been reintroduced, so check.

One of the issues in my view is that the brakes are so efficient that the braking zone is down to 30 or 40 meters and there just isnt enough room to outbrake someone. Differently from the 80s where you could clearly see on car braking later than the other, then sliding around the corner to hold on to the position.

I understand there might be a safety argument against banning super efficient brakes, but with lesser brakes the drivers would just need to take a different approach to braking and, by consequence, overtaking.

Regarding the sliding part of the equation, I understand this has to do both with aerodynamics and tyre construction. Apparently they are so optimized for going in a straight line that if you skid you lose a ton of time. How to revert that to reward aggressive drivers who trash the car around corners?

Facts Only

Re: Idea: ban carbon fiber brake discs?

Its not really the brake material that has reduced the length of the braking zone, its the grip increase that has driven that reduction.

As for sliding, (apart from on loose surfaces) its not the quickest way to get round a corner. If its not the quickest way round a corner then they (the designers and drivers) will do everything they can to avoid it.
"A pretentious quote taken out of context to make me look deep" - Some old racing driver

McMrocks