Interesting comments from Vitel...reduced wake, punching in KERs at the wrong time...opens up some discussion topics.
I found it interesting they were showing the KERs being connected to the front of the crankshaft and not through the transmission as I would have expected. Through the transmission would be more applicable to a road car, but F1...different beast.
If I recall, there is a statement in the KERs rules that says it can not be charged up prior to the cars going on track. This means if it is to be used at the start of hte race, it can only be charged on the formation lap. For a system that would be charged under braking only, this will be difficult.
With the arrangement of the generator/motor on the front of the crankshaft, the system can be charged by the engine, completely independant of the braking system.
Personal motto... "Were it not for the bad.... I would have no luck at all."