There was little drama until it was announced that Schumacher had been given a five-second stop-go penalty for twice overtaking Hill during the parade lap. The Benetton team refused to call Michael in, arguing that they had not been properly notified of the punishment.
Schumacher was then black-flagged for failing to come in for his stop-go penalty after seven laps. The black flag informs the driver that he must stop at his pits on the next lap. Schumacher later said he did not see the black flag. In the pits the Benetton men argued with the FIA. On lap 27 - 14 laps after the penalty was given - Schumacher finally stopped but only after Race Director Roland Bruynseraede had been to the Benetton pit. The team later received a severe reprimand and a fine of $25,000.
raymondu999 wrote:I often see "overtaking" done on the formation lap, though the position is generally relinquished again - or is that a polesitter-only rule?
Users browsing this forum: ChrisDanger and 4 guests