asking about gearbox

All that has to do with the power train, gearbox, clutch, fuels and lubricants, etc. Generally the mechanical side of Formula One.
nic08

asking about gearbox

hi

I'm new in f1, I'm really curious about gearboxes in f1. I know it's sequential, but I'm curious about ratio that adjusted in gearboxes. What is ratio means? what is 1:2 in first gear, 1:3 in second gear, 2:5 in third gear and etc.

Tommy Cookers

Re: asking about gearbox

actually the 8 ratios are not adjusted, they fixed for ever - under the 2015 rules

neither the gears in the gearbox nor the gears between the gearbox and the axle shafts can be altered
only replaced with identical ones

the drivers (my guess) use only gears 1-6 at Monaco - they can't go fast enough for gear 7 and gear 8
maybe at Silverstone they use only gears 3-8 after the start (because there's no slow turns)

ratio means how many crankshaft revolutions give 1 revolution of the the rear wheels
Last edited by Tommy Cookers on 03 Oct 2015, 16:20, edited 2 times in total.

hollus

This is estimated from online videos assuming a 660mm wheel diameter:

Actual (approximate) gear ratios in F1 in 2015
Rivals, not enemies.

riff_raff

F1 gearboxes use a pair of gears for each speed that have a certain ratio of tooth numbers. While the rules don't permit changing the ratio of each gearset and require a certain minimum center distance between the gear shafts, I think the number of teeth can be changed as long as other requirements are met. For example, you can use a 20T/40T gearset instead of a 22T/44T gearset, since both provide the same ratio. Can't say if it would provide any benefit though.
"Q: How do you make a small fortune in racing?
A: Start with a large one!"

autogyro

The lay gear that includes all the output gears of the gear sets rotates in oil.
A bit like bolting a small washing machine onto the back of the engine.

riff_raff