Formula Vee CFD???

Please discuss here all your remarks and pose your questions about all racing series, except Formula One. Both technical and other questions about GP2, Touring cars, IRL, LMS, ...
GTRdesign

Formula Vee CFD???

Hey there guys!

I'm currently building a Formula Vee car here in South Africa. It's a really competitive series with all the cars locally designed and built by guys in their garages. Check out http://www.formulaveesa.org.za to find out more.

I've been designing the car in Pro-E for the last 2 years or so and have finally started construction, with the chassis nearly complete. However, I've never had a chance to run the car through CFD.

Would anyone be interested in running it? would be quite cool to be able to compare theory and practice as it's a real car that will compete in a national championship, and changes etc... can be measure in the real world.

regards,
If you can't fix it with a hammer, it's probably electrical

Giblet

Re: Formula Vee CFD???

Fixed Images for you.

Before I do anything I ask myself “Would an idiot do that?” And if the answer is yes, I do not do that thing. - Dwight Schrute

tomislavp4

That is a nice looking racer there =D> I really like it and I hope that someone will be willing to do some CFD on it, it would be cool to see the development :)

BreezyRacer

You're way too late doing the CFD AFTER you design it.

Do you have to use a beam axle? They are pretty draggy.

Every once in a while Racecar Engineering does some aero and chassis stuff on Vees, if you're not familiar with it, check it out. Those Vees are nothing like what you're building though .. they are traditional Vees with flat 4 cyl air cooled engines.

One last thing .. how you gonna get that transaxle above the diffuser?

GTRdesign

Thanks guys!!!