Formula Student Tires

Here are our CFD links and discussions about aerodynamics, suspension, driver safety and tyres. Please stick to F1 on this forum.
matty641R

Formula Student Tires

im currently a final year BSc student studying at Huddersfield university. basically as part of a final year project im in charge of the area of tire analysis and performance. i haven't as yet had a detailed meeting to discuss the different routes that the team has allready explored. i have a very basic knowledge in this area and was wondering if anyone knows of any good articles, advice and any potential software that would be extremely usefull. thanks guys.

KeithYoung

Re: Formula Student Tires

I don't have the details but for very cheap you can join the FSAE Tire Data group. I don't know that's the exact name but you'll get the data you some of the popular FSAE tire options.

If you're still having trouble let me know.

krisfx

I'm a year below you at the same uni! Just onto placement. Aren't the FSAE tyres quite similar regardless of what you go for?

I did read something online, though that had a comparison between them (I think).

I did find this, though so I hope it helps: http://www.engr.colostate.edu/pts/Job/U ... deling.pdf

Lycoming

Tire Test Consortium, it's called. If your team isn't already in it and you plan to do anything objective regarding tires, get it. And if you do, don't forget to display the Calspan sticker; it's a bit depressing how many teams don't do that.

Also, you'd probably by far better off asking these kinds of questions on the FSAE forums.

KeithYoung

That's what the name was. Go with what Lycoming said.

flmkane

krisfx wrote:I'm a year below you at the same uni! Just onto placement. Aren't the FSAE tyres quite similar regardless of what you go for?

I did read something online, though that had a comparison between them (I think).

I did find this, though so I hope it helps: http://www.engr.colostate.edu/pts/Job/U ... deling.pdf