anyone f1 aerodynamics expert

Here are our CFD links and discussions about aerodynamics, suspension, driver safety and tyres. Please stick to F1 on this forum.
nic08

anyone f1 aerodynamics expert

hi, I"m just new here, I'm wanna know how f1 aerodynamics works. could you give me something to read about or a book or website that pertains about f1 aerodynamics. its hard to understand.

graham.reeds

Re: anyone f1 aerodynamics expert

You cannot learn how aero works by just reading a book or a website. I've been interested in aero (unprofessionally) for 15+ years and still learning new things.

Gatecrasher

Start simple, Google is your friend to grasp the basics.

http://www.f1technical.net/articles/10

I am not an aerodynamics expert, just an engineer in a different but highly technical field. Most books that are serious on a technical subject matter typically give a couple of pages on general concepts and then quickly develop into deep theory, mathematics and the physics. Enough to bore you to tears unless you are actually studying it at college.

I hope their might be a true aero engineer that can reply and dispel my thoughts. There is a Holy Grail written by Adrian Newey that can be purchased on Kindle. :idea: I would buy that

nic08

are aerodynamics in planes and f1 same?

turbof1

nic08 wrote:are aerodynamics in planes and f1 same?
I'm very much inclined to say no, even though both start from the same basic principles. To get a basic grip on aerodynamics, you best start with aerodynamics in aviation since a F1 wing is very much an airplane wing upside. However, F1 branches completely off once you start looking deeper.
#AeroFrodo

Tommy Cookers

nic08 wrote:are aerodynamics in planes and f1 same?
yes and no ....

aerodynamics in planes are essentially 2 dimensional
because planes are things that need efficient lift eg drag must be only a tiny % of lift eg 2-5%
so they must have minimal seperated flow (vortices)

F1 aero includes much 3 dimensional flow