tyres between soft, hard, medium

Here are our CFD links and discussions about aerodynamics, suspension, driver safety and tyres. Please stick to F1 on this forum.
nic08

hey guys,

I'm new in formula one and I'm thinking about tyres, can you guys explain to me the effects, pro and cons of medium, hard and soft tyres

livinglikethathuh

Pirelli has four kinds of tires, supersoft (red), soft (yellow), medium (white) and hard (orange). Pirelli announces which two compounds they're bringing beforehand, taking into account cornering speed, track surface&temperature etc. Slower corners and cooler temperatures generally mean softer compounds, fast corners with hot tracks generally mean harder compounds, although there are exceptions. The softer of the two compounds selected is called the option tyre, the harder one is called prime. A tyre may be called option in one race and prime in the other.

Softer tyres yield more grip but they wear away faster. Harder tyres yield less grip but they will maintain it for longer. Sometimes track conditions may favor one compound over the other, for example when the track is very hot the hard compound sometimes equals the medium in grip, but it is rare.

Teams run their cars with both tyre compounds in Friday practice sessions and try to determine how many laps they can go without losing too much grip and losing time/risking going off track, then they decide what set of tyres to use in the race, and when. Teams have to use both sets of dry tyres if the race is dry throughout, and also they will have to use the particular set of tyres they used in Q2 at the start of the race.