Tryouts with https

Everything about this website and its content. Here you will find update announcements or requests for feedback. Questions about layout, functionality, content, and your suggestions are welcome.
Steven
Owner
User avatar
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 5:32 pm
Location: Belgium

Tryouts with https

Post by Steven » Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:24 pm

Hi all,

Since a short while, this site is also accessible via a secure HTTPS connection.
If you didn't know, this allows the data to and from this site to be encrypted, so that nobody in between you and the server and intercept what you are sending or receiving.

Currently, there is no redirect, so you can use whichever version you want.
:arrow: https://www.f1technical.net

Please share your thoughts, or if you encounter issues, warnings, whatever so these can be revolved.

rscsr
50
User avatar
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:02 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Tryouts with https

Post by rscsr » Mon Dec 19, 2016 3:28 pm

Steven wrote:Hi all,

Since a short while, this site is also accessible via a secure HTTPS connection.
If you didn't know, this allows the data to and from this site to be encrypted, so that nobody in between you and the server and intercept what you are sending or receiving.

Currently, there is no redirect, so you can use whichever version you want.
:arrow: https://www.f1technical.net

Please share your thoughts, or if you encounter issues, warnings, whatever so these can be revolved.
I don't have ads when using https.

wesley123
177
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 4:55 pm

Re: Tryouts with https

Post by wesley123 » Mon Dec 19, 2016 3:44 pm

rscsr wrote: I don't have ads when using https.
You probably have http://f1technical.net whitelisted, and thus it would not apply to the https variant
"Bite my shiny metal ass" - Bender

rscsr
50
User avatar
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:02 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Tryouts with https

Post by rscsr » Mon Dec 19, 2016 4:15 pm

wesley123 wrote:
rscsr wrote: I don't have ads when using https.
You probably have http://f1technical.net whitelisted, and thus it would not apply to the https variant
µblock was disabled. But suddenly ads are showing also on https for me (at least sometimes). So no problem anymore from my side.
edit: ok, I have found what caused this. Vivaldi seems to block "Content from unauthorized sources" automatically when using https. So it seems to be somewhat of an issue on Vivaldi.

dans79
114
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:33 pm
Location: USA

Re: Tryouts with https

Post by dans79 » Mon Dec 19, 2016 5:41 pm

Steven, are using one of the new free 90 day certificates?

Steven
Owner
User avatar
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 5:32 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Tryouts with https

Post by Steven » Mon Dec 19, 2016 7:33 pm

dans79 wrote:Steven, are using one of the new free 90 day certificates?
Indeed, from letsencrypt.

The difficulty however is that when a site on https, then browsers tend to throw warnings or automatically block content within that page which is not served via https. Some ads come to mind, but nearly all embedded pics in the forum are normal http as well... hence why I'm polling for input.

Anyway, I guess leaving everybody the choice on what to use is a good option.

dans79
114
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:33 pm
Location: USA

Re: Tryouts with https

Post by dans79 » Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:02 pm

you could do a find and replace in the database, I've had to do this a lot when migrating systems from http to https.

you can see some examples here.
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1017 ... f-a-string


for this domain I would just map "http://www.f1technical.net" & " https://www.f1technical.net/" to "//www.f1technical.net/". This makes references protocol agnostic, and lets the browser choose how to request the resource.

you can do it to external references as well, and the worst thing that will happen is broken links, but you won't get any security warnings.

I've had to write a lot of plugins for 3rd party systems as well, to work around this issue.

nevill3
18
User avatar
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:31 pm
Location: Monaco

Re: Tryouts with https

Post by nevill3 » Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:43 pm

I am now using the Secured links and have found that the fonts are a little different, the bold is not as bold :?:
Sent from my ZX Spectrum

Steven
Owner
User avatar
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 5:32 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Tryouts with https

Post by Steven » Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:05 pm

Interesting...

Can you try hitting f12, open the network tab and refresh the page? Are any (font) files nog being loaded?

dans79
114
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:33 pm
Location: USA

Re: Tryouts with https

Post by dans79 » Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:12 pm

Steven wrote:Interesting...

Can you try hitting f12, open the network tab and refresh the page? Are any (font) files nog being loaded?

the roboto font is being blocked.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9MKDH ... sp=sharing

Steven
Owner
User avatar
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 5:32 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Tryouts with https

Post by Steven » Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:27 pm

Thanks!
I'll get that sorted

Steven
Owner
User avatar
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 5:32 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Tryouts with https

Post by Steven » Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:32 pm

With last weekend's update, I think the known https issues are all sorted now as well.

Please try a few things and let me know!



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CCBot [Bot] and 1 guest