University DRS project - TDH

Post here information about your own engineering projects, including but not limited to building your own car or designing a virtual car through CAD.
TDH
TDH

University DRS project - TDH

I will introduce myself first. I'm an aeronautical engineering student in Belgium. I am currently in my final year before I will graduate. There is only one thing left to do and that is to make a project where I apply all the knowledge I gained over the past 2 years. I am always been fascinated by the best technologie and Formula one develops the best technologies in the world if you ask me. So for my project I chose to make a thesis and a practical example of a DRS because it's never done before in Belgium.

I am currently in the research phase of the project and I am trying to get into contact with a formula one team.

What does the project involve:
- A general explanation of the system used to activate and retract the DRS
- The rules which involve the DRS both technical as sportive
- A 2D CFD simulation and interpretation of the DRS
- The kind of materials used to produce the rear wing and the fabrication process
- The impact of DRS in the races (What do the riders/mechanics/fans think of the introduction of DRS)

The things that I really need are:
- Some oppinions
- The exact profile of a DRS/ rear wing
- A general explanation of the system used to activate and retract the DRS (Because I don't have a clue)
- Someone who works at a F1 team who can help me.

If someone helps me, you need to know that I will use the things you say in me thesis.
And if I find someone really helpfull I will put your name in the thesis as well.

I will thank you in advance and will keep you updated along the way

Tom
Last edited by mx_tifoso on 13 Nov 2012, 03:03, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: edited title to clarify actual topic and author

mep

Re: University project

Hi Tom,