2017 F1 Car: Design Project

Post here information about your own engineering projects, including but not limited to building your own car or designing a virtual car through CAD.
Tozza Mazza

2017 F1 Car: Design Project

Hi all,

I am an Aerospace engineering student who has completed their undergraduate studies and is working for a year in industry at a finite element simulation company (Structural, not CFD) who has an interest in race car design.

A few weeks ago I decided to undertake a project whereby I would design a F1 car in CAD, with slightly modified regulations to match those anticipated for 2017, and use this as a base to evaluate the changes these regulations will have on the car, and from this point develop the car with the aid of CFD to make it a working design. The CAD model was surprisingly quick to whip up, only taking a week or so with the biggest challenge (so far) being the practise of getting to grips with the CFD software and post-processor. I am going to use the 'one-click CFD' package used by the KVRC teams.

To summarise, my aims:
1/Create a visual interpretation of the 2017 F1 technical regulations
2/Evaluate the effect of such changes
3/Use engineering concepts and computational fluid dynamics to develop this car.