Why are cooling systems necessary ?

Post anything that doesn't belong in any other forum, including gaming and topics unrelated to motorsport. Site specific discussions should go in the site feedback forum.
hypermecanix

Why are cooling systems necessary ?

Hi,

I'm a student and right now we're working on designing a cylinder head for a truck engine. The problem is mainly to reduce the stress.
Stress in the material is produced by the pression in the combustion chamber, and by the thermal dilatation.
And the thermal stress is the worst. The higher the temperature gradient is, the higher the stress is. So here is my question : by setting cooling channels everywhere we make the gradient bigger and bigger (the low part of the cylinder head is at 600K, and the cooling fluid is 370K just at 15mm from the bottom), and thus the stress becomes unacceptable.
Why must we cool engines ?

manchild

Because engine parts expand under heat and if not cooled engine would get stuck, blow the gasket and/or bend the cylinder head and damage the internal parts etc.

DaveKillens

The process of combustion generates heat. If that heat was not removed from the critical head area, it would eventually reach the same temperature as the combustion process, and suffer catastrophic mechanical failure.

hypermecanix

Yes but there is no part that can burn. What's the true mechanical reason ? Why would something break ?

The cylinder head bending is increasing with cooling. That's what makes me ask the question.

manchild

You're wrong about burning. Everytning burns oh high temperature - pistons, valves... look at the pics

ImageImage

Sudden cooling like puting cold water in hot engine or boiled engine can bend cyl head but when the thermostat works fine including the rest of cooling system the head won't bend.
Last edited by manchild on 27 Jan 2006, 16:24, edited 4 times in total.

hypermecanix

Wow now i understand. The material just doesn't like heat.