Bleeding of a motorcycle braking system

Post anything that doesn't belong in any other forum, including gaming and topics unrelated to motorsport. Site specific discussions should go in the site feedback forum.
MV Owner

Bleeding of a motorcycle braking system

Dear All,

Firstly, I am a newbie here so a big hello and please be gentle!!

My inquiry needs expertise from someone who could help a motorcycle enthusiast on the art of brake system bleeding on a motorcycle.

The motorcycle is an italian MV Agusta F4 and is fitted with a radial type master cylinder with one single braided line from the master cylinder down to a rigid metal line with splitter mounted above the front mudguard that feeds two six piston calipers on stainless discs. There is no bleed nipple on the master cylinder and each caliper has only one bleed nipple.

I have purchased some 'speedbleeder' one way bleed nipples. These weren't cheap and cheerful items, but are a very tightly fitting nipple in the caliper body thread so I would suggest there is no scope for air getting drawn up the bleed nipple threads on the brake lever release stroke (if this is in fact possible or maybe I'm talking nonsense).

My usual method of bleeding is not to 'reverse bleed' the system from the bottom up (like some others do) but to apply a soft rubber hose to the bleed nipples and open the nipple and pump the master cylinder slowly and rely on the ball bearing arrangement in the speedbleeder to flush the fluid through the system until I see no bubbles. I use around 1 litre of fluid for a system which I would suggest is around 250ml in capacity.

I would appreciate your expertise on a number of issues please:-