Tire longitudinal and lateral slip at low speed

All that has to do with the power train, gearbox, clutch, fuels and lubricants, etc. Generally the mechanical side of Formula One.
Anna Gul

Tire longitudinal and lateral slip at low speed

Greeting!
I am a research student and am working on vehicle modelling in matlab/simulink. Currently am studying behavior of standing car that how it settles it roll pitch and yaw angle.
While doing so i encountered a problem that how we would deal with longitudinal and slip velocities at low speed that are approaching zero.

longitudinal slip= (r*w- vx)./|vx| lateral slip= -arctan(vy./vx)

Should i ignore the velocities upto some value and let slip be zero. As tire forces are proportional to slip and when i include them the model becomes unstable. and specially the ratio becomes high.

I am stuck in this problem for months please help i found this forum really helpful. [-o<

gruntguru

Re: Tire longitudinal and lateral slip at low speed

Hi Anna. Greg Locock sometimes checks in here. I suggest you post at http://www.eng-tips.com/threadminder.cfm?pid=68
je suis charlie

Anna Gul

Thankyou dear gruntguru :)

rscsr

Anna Gul wrote:
05 Dec 2017, 18:28
Greeting!
I am a research student and am working on vehicle modelling in matlab/simulink. Currently am studying behavior of standing car that how it settles it roll pitch and yaw angle.
While doing so i encountered a problem that how we would deal with longitudinal and slip velocities at low speed that are approaching zero.

longitudinal slip= (r*w- vx)./|vx| lateral slip= -arctan(vy./vx)

Should i ignore the velocities upto some value and let slip be zero. As tire forces are proportional to slip and when i include them the model becomes unstable. and specially the ratio becomes high.

I am stuck in this problem for months please help i found this forum really helpful. [-o<
I assume that you are using the slip to calculate the forces on the car with curves like these: