2016 Isle of Man TT

Please discuss here all your remarks and pose your questions about all racing series, except Formula One. Both technical and other questions about GP2, Touring cars, IRL, LMS, ...
bdr529

2016 Isle of Man TT

What started out as a good week with good weather and fast times around the course, turned sour yesterday with the death of two racers.
Australian sidecar rider Dwight Beare (27yrs) died in an accident during the first sidecar race and his passenger Benjamin Binns suffered a broken ankle in the accident.

English ride Paul Shoesmith (50) lost his life in a crash during practice

These's deaths fall on the heals of a crash that took the life of Dean Martin (58) last weekend, Martin was competing in the 850cc Classic race at the Southern 100 meet, which also takes place on the Isle of Man

ChrisDanger

Re: 2016 Isle of Man TT

Whenever I see footage from this event I'm dumbfounded that anyone can be crazy enough to race here. I mean, I worked as a bike courier in London but this is next-level type death-wish stuff. Sorry to all witnesses, friends, and most of all family of those lost.

bdr529

Michael Dunlop brakes the all-time lap record on route to taking victory in the superbike race
Dunlop's lap of 16 minutes and 58.254 seconds is the first ever lap under 17 minutes, along with setting the new lap record
Dunlop also set a new 6-lap race record with a final time of 1 hr, 44 m, 14.259 s

Michael Dunlop Isle of Man TT 2016 - Superbike Practice

bdr529

Isle of Man TT 2016 Superbike Race highlights,

Last edited by bdr529 on 12 Jun 2016, 15:32, edited 1 time in total.

strad

To achieve anything, you must be prepared to dabble on the boundary of disaster.”
Sir Stirling Moss

strad

To achieve anything, you must be prepared to dabble on the boundary of disaster.”
Sir Stirling Moss

hpras

Bit of a close call. Both riders OK.

strad

I just wonder who got scared worst.
Sir Stirling Moss

bdr529