Aero on Drag racing cars

Please discuss here all your remarks and pose your questions about all racing series, except Formula One. Both technical and other questions about GP2, Touring cars, IRL, LMS, ...
SventheGreat2

Aero on Drag racing cars

First off I am new to Aerodynamics and such but I am still very interested. I have been recently taken more interest in studying Aero on cars and while doing this I have realized that apart from big wings there is little aero on drag cars. If I am wrong Please Explain!

Thank you,
SventheGreat2

cramr

Re: Aero on Drag racing cars

I don't know much about Dragsters, but in terms of aero modelling I guess the challenge would be to model the big massive rotating rear tyre

Facts Only

My first port of call would be to look up the actual rules. Top fuel is an FIA series so there should be a readily available rule list. its easier to understand the 'why' when you know the 'must'

With top fuel dragsters I have always wondered why the rear wing is behind the rear axle, the big challenge seem to be keeping the front wheels on the ground so having the rear wing behind the rear axle makes the rear wheels a pivot point to lift the front wheels when there is downforce and drag on the rear wing? Surely there is a point somehere along the length of the car where the intersection of the downforce and the drag is acting almost 100% on the rear wheels and leaving the front wheels neutral?

I'm probably just being stupid or missing something obvious though.
"A pretentious quote taken out of context to make me look deep" - Some old racing driver

Pierce89

Facts Only wrote:My first port of call would be to look up the actual rules. Top fuel is an FIA series so there should be a readily available rule list. its easier to understand the 'why' when you know the 'must'