Bicycle model - vehicle dyanmics

Here are our CFD links and discussions about aerodynamics, suspension, driver safety and tyres. Please stick to F1 on this forum.
KPS
KPS

Bicycle model - vehicle dyanmics

Hi people,

I'm new to this, but was looking for some advice. I started doing some Formula Student work, and currently am looking into some modelling (sim). I am trying to get a basic understanding of the vehicle through the use of a bicycle model.

I understand that I need to find the cornering stiffness but using some input data simulated. But in order to do this do I not need to know the Tire forces? And is this not something calculated through the magic formula (example) which requires the cornering stiffness in the first place... :?

I am currently trying to set up a bicycle model, just need to fill in the gaps on my knowledge.

Thanks!

Greg Locock

Re: Bicycle model - vehicle dyanmics

The cornering stiffness is a property of your tire model. It is the gradient of the lateral force vs slip angle line at your particular Fz (and speed if we are being snarky)

In the absence of any info use 1000N/deg as a plug-in figure. Or else use Fz/(5-10)/deg.

Obviously for a bicycle model the cornering stiffness is the sum of the two wheels on each axle.

KPS
KPS

Greg Locock wrote:The cornering stiffness is a property of your tire model. It is the gradient of the lateral force vs slip angle line at your particular Fz (and speed if we are being snarky)

In the absence of any info use 1000N/deg as a plug-in figure. Or else use Fz/(5-10)/deg.

Obviously for a bicycle model the cornering stiffness is the sum of the two wheels on each axle.
Are the tire lateral forces not what I should be finding within the bicycle model before ultimately getting the cornering stiffness? So it's the output?

Or is the tire lateral force the input for my bicycle model? So I have to use the magic formula (or similar) in order to find it and the plug it into my model.

Greg Locock