Ground effect vs overtaking

Here are our CFD links and discussions about aerodynamics, suspension, driver safety and tyres. Please stick to F1 on this forum.
DarkAlman

Ground effect vs overtaking

Just curious to get an opinion on this since I'm not an aero engineer by any stretch of the imagination.

If F1 were to change the direction on aero design and switch to using ground effect sidepods ala 70's instead of the current winglets, floors and diffuser what effect would that have on overtaking? or the races in general?

Do Ground effects cause less upwash and dirty air? or more? or about the same?
Are skirts required for this to work? or does it merely make the whole thing more efficient?

godlameroso

Re: Ground effect vs overtaking

Is it really that the only reason we see less overtaking in F1 because of sensitive aero? I mean sure that has something to do with it, but what about the type of track that's raced on, what about the quality of the drivers in F1? These are supposed to be the best of the best, surely passing good racers isn't easy. Furthermore the speeds possible in F1 means there's far less margin for error than in lesser categories, the fact we see overtaking in closely matched cars with this kind of speed at all is surprising enough. Not to mention Nascar style passes are boring, it's different in F1 a pass requires more strategy it's more chess like. It's like scoring a point in Futbol vs scoring a point in Basketball.
Saishū kōnā

The_table

If only they could use "something"(maybe some active aero) to compensate for following another car closely (something that follows the same rules as DRS. (After all this would be exactly the same as DRS except it does the opposite to the car...)

The problem is that something like this would have to be standardized like DRS is...

(ps: pls don't flame me, i know this is heresy :D )