Rear Wings

Here are our CFD links and discussions about aerodynamics, suspension, driver safety and tyres. Please stick to F1 on this forum.
Ritchie
Ritchie

Rear Wings

Hi Guys,

Well this is my first post so please be a little gentle with me :lol:

I am a final year student at the uni of herts.

Part of my project is to desgin a rear wing using CFD for the SAE formula student car, not scritly F1, but i am only a wee student :lol:

Just after some info really.... So if anyone could answer any of these questions in as much or little detail as poss then please do

Need to find out what airfoils are used for rear wings?
(NACA 4-series, 5-series etc...)

One for the aero people out there, is there anywhere i can find information on these standard airfoils, i.e. when NACA designed it, it generated x lift at x speeds

And does anyone know how to use PHOENICS cos i am finding it a pile of brown smelly stuff.

Well guys this is it for the moment as i am getting a little stressed with very little help form tutors

All help greatly apprecitaed

Ritchie

Monstrobolaxa
Monstrobolaxa

Hi Ritchie.

About the NACA airfoils.....try the following link it has alot of Fluid Mechanics/aerodynamics links....you might find there one or 2 web pages that might help you.

By the way when you finish your project could I take a look at an abstract of it.....cause in 3/4 years I'll also have to do a project....so I'd like to know how to stucture the thing!

http://www.engr.usask.ca/~drs694/fluidmechanics.htm

Blix
Blix

Most of the wise people that I have talked to have said that a wing on an SAE/Student car is not particularly effective due to the low speeds...time and resources are better spent on mechanical grip. If you must have a wing, make sure it causes as little drag as possible.

Reca
Reca