Brawn GP aerodynamicist wins Dino Toso award

By on

Brawn GP’s Head of Aerodynamics Loic Bigois received the 2009 Dino Toso Racecar Aerodynamicist of the Year Award during the Oxford World Motorsport Symposium, on Thursday 19 November. The Awards event has been organised every year since 2006 in parallel with the Symposium held by Race Tech Magazine.

An independent panel of specialists decided on the recipients of the three Awards presented which include Racing Engine Designer 2009, Racecar Aerodynamicist 2009 and Most Innovative New Motorsport Product 2009.

Loic was extremely happy to receive the award: “I am very proud to accept this Award on behalf of Brawn GP’s Aerodynamic Department. I am particularly happy as it is the Dino Toso Award and I appreciated Dino very much. I would just like to make a wish. The organisers should change the name of this award for next year from Aerodynamicist of the Year to Aerodynamic Department of the Year."

"The result comes from team work, from a complete department and not from only one individual. 2009 was successful for us but was also very tough. In the same week in March, we achieved an outstanding one-two result in Melbourne and went through the redundancy process at the factory. In fact it was quite difficult to enjoy our success at the time and I want to dedicate this Award to the complete aero department; to the people who are still here and those who left in March or returned to Honda in Japan. Many thanks to them all for their contribution.”