F1 v6 swap

Post here all non technical related topics about Formula One. This includes race results, discussions, testing analysis etc. TV coverage and other personal questions should be in Off topic chat.
AlpineF1

F1 v6 swap

hey this is my first post so i hope i dont look to stupid...

but when f1 makes the swap to V6 turbo will it sound more like the GP2 cars or the older formula 1 cars also will they like in 2009 completely redesign the F1 cars :?: im 14 by the way so dumb it down a little? haha thank you :)
And so you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high.
Ayrton Senna

My blog
Twitter
Facebook

Websta

Re: F1 v6 swap

I'm no expert, but I believe they will sound like higher-pitched IndyCars (IndyCar engines are limited to 10300 revs and the F1 V6 turbos will rev to 15000). IndyCar engines are V8s though so the sound will not be entirely comparable. GP2 engines only rev to around 10000 rpm so the new F1 engines will certainly be higher pitched than those as well.

AlpineF1

thanks!! it feels like im the only person who's concerned what they will sound like..im sure im not but i think like the v10 era its going to be a shame to wave goodbye to the V8's the sound for me is one of the most important things an f1 car without a good sound is like a lion that sounds like Keith Lemon :lol: but i dont think the sound difference will be too great

thanks for your help :D
And so you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high.
Ayrton Senna

My blog
Twitter
Facebook

Websta

I am really going to miss the V8 sound, but nothing like I miss the V10s.
an f1 car without a good sound is like a lion that sounds like Keith Lemon
:lol: :lol:

AlpineF1