Driver performance science

Post here all non technical related topics about Formula One. This includes race results, discussions, testing analysis etc. TV coverage and other personal questions should be in Off topic chat.
raymondu999

Driver performance science

I know this isn't quite in line with the more "mechanical" and "aerodynamic" aspects of "technical" that get discussed here, but I'm just curious, especially if anyone here is medical-trained.

Alonso has just done one of the best season-long performances of any grand prix driver. He made maybe just 1 or 2 mistakes season-long, and was pretty much on the ball over the season. But this thread isn't to debate that.

As a performance coach, I'm rather well-versed in practical psychology - and thus well aware of how powerful the mind and mindset is in all this. But at the same time - you can have the healthiest, sharpest mind, programmed in all the right ways, but it's never enough to *just* look at the mind.

Other than the sheer fact that a driver should hone their racecraft and their speed - what should a driver do to pursue this kind of season? Fitness? Changing their nutritional intake?

I'm looking for more scientific answers, rather than the qualitative "they should focus more, they should work out more" etc if possible.

Otherwise, all answers are well appreciated. :lol:
Last edited by raymondu999 on 06 Dec 2012, 03:02, edited 1 time in total.
失败者找理由,成功者找方法

marcush.

Re: Driver performance sustainability

I´m pretty sure one can widen this view across the whole team ...It´s necessary to build a "winning" attitude into all team members ..this includes the ones home based .
formula 1 recruiters often stretch the words "can do" attitude and selfmotivation but i think the real key is the lead figures within a team who lift their troops to new heights of performance.
Schumacher in his first career and now Alonso at Ferrari seem to be good examples ...as were Todt at Ferrari and Key wherever he goes.

timbo