Adrian Newey or Christian Horner

Post here all non technical related topics about Formula One. This includes race results, discussions, testing analysis etc. TV coverage and other personal questions should be in Off topic chat.
Goingsmoto
Goingsmoto

Adrian Newey or Christian Horner

I am doing a little soul searching, and I figured this would be a good discussion.

I am a university student, I already have two, two year degrees, Composite Engineering and Manufacturing Engineering. I am on the fence about either a Business degree or a Aerospace Engineering degree. I have raced and built motorcycles since I was 4 years old, I have been to Spain (I am from the U.S.A) as a intern for a Ducati racing team, now I am on a Formula SAE/Student team. I am going to strive to become the team leader, once I get done I will work for some sort of high tech racing team (perferrably in Formula Junior, F1, Le Mans(ALMS) series, or Indy). So I want to hear from you, is a Team Principal (management) or a Chief Tech (engineer) more desirable/more rewarding?

Thank you, Chad

Tim.Wright

Re: Adrian Newey or Christian Horner

You can't generalise and say "one of them is more rewarding". It depends on you, its really quite simple;
If you enjoy management more = do management
If you enjoy engineering more = stay on the technical side

I managed an FSAE project one year and it was shithouse. I've only done engineering since. Other people will say the exact opposite.
Not the engineer at Force India

raymondu999

Yeah. Can't help you with this one unfortunately. Would you rather deal with the sporting side? Technical side? Management/political side?

Whichever one you choose, those will lead you to TD, TP, or TM
失败者找理由,成功者找方法

Jersey Tom
Jersey Tom

You may want to back up a step and think about this from some different angles. Some things to consider: