Onboard camera technology

Post here all non technical related topics about Formula One. This includes race results, discussions, testing analysis etc. TV coverage and other personal questions should be in Off topic chat.
flattyre
flattyre

Onboard camera technology

First of all, I'm no expert when it comes to photography - I could be wrong on many counts here!

I've been thinking about this for a while. F1 has moved to HD onboard cameras now, and they seemed light years better than the SD cameras that were used before. But, I ask - would an HD quality analogue camera that was used to modern standards be even better than an HD quality digital camera?

Back in 2007, I remember that the onboard cameras had a drastic reduction in viewing quality. I maybe wrong, but I always assumed that this was when they first started to use digital cameras instead of analogue. Compare these two videos - the first is from 1995, and the second is from 2007:

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjXw3dHaqcQ[/youtube]

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MM-KXllPDOQ[/youtube]

2007 is more detailed, but 1995 is more 'fluid' and is more like how your eyes actually see things. Of course, the digital camera technology was still quite young then, but it made me wonder - why change it in the first place if the old technology was better? Of course, this is an unfair comparison - so here is an onboard from 2011, when the technology had a chance to mature.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A1Ai4o9fT7Y[/youtube]

This has some of the 'softness' that makes the 1995 footage look so appealing, but in my eyes it is still quite 'jerky' and doesn't feel as smooth and as fluid as the 1995 footage. Surely I cannot be the only one here who feels this way?

It does make you wonder - what could modern analogue look like?

timbo
timbo

Re: Onboard camera technology