Designing from the ground up

Post here all non technical related topics about Formula One. This includes race results, discussions, testing analysis etc. TV coverage and other personal questions should be in Off topic chat.
RangerSAE
RangerSAE

Designing from the ground up

Hey guys, brand new to this sight. I'm an engineering student who participates in FSAE. My team is teaching me some great stuff about designing a car from the ground up but I was hoping to find some more information on vehicle design/dynamics to continue my education on my own. However I'm finding it difficult to find the kind of information I'm looking for. Do you guys have any good books you've read and would recommend for me?

Greg Locock
Greg Locock

Re: Designing from the ground up

I don't hang out there but the FSAE forums must have book lists. Anyway, in my opinion, start with the Carroll Smith books. If you want to go into the more eye glazing details of Vehicle Dynamics then Milliken and Milliken RCVD is probably the best of the heavyweight books in general. I would only bother with that if you are in on the tire testing syndicate (or you test our own), otherwise any extra fidelity in the analysis of the kinematics etc will be swamped by the uncertainity in your tires. Did I mention that 70% of the steering and handling of a car is in the tires?

I don't know of any good general books on vehicle design as an overall process, but then I've never looked. If it doesn't use a top down approach and a V (cascade requirements) then it is probably not up with the modern way of doing things, which has been around since WW1.

Facts Only
Facts Only

This book is rather useful:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Build-Motorcycl ... acing+cars

Combines theory with practical work to build an actual car, lot of pictures and lots of real world learning.
"A pretentious quote taken out of context to make me look deep" - Some old racing driver

Tim.Wright