Mark Webber's 'footwork'

Post here all non technical related topics about Formula One. This includes race results, discussions, testing analysis etc. TV coverage and other personal questions should be in Off topic chat.
D
D

Mark Webber's 'footwork'

I'm new so hello everyone.

A small observation while watching the Malaysian GP on ITV. During the onboard footage of Webber (chasing Wurz I believe), I noticed he jabs at the throttle while full on the brakes before/during turn in.

Just wondering what is the significance of this? Any ideas out there why he drives like that? Is that a change of style on his part to suit the car or has he always driven like that?

As you can tell, I'm a bit of a novice in this area so any information/opinions would be appreciated. Thanks!

Iciano

I think its just his left foot braking style - adjusting the atitude of the car using the throttle while braking...

waynes
waynes

settling the rear of the car possibly, trying to aid turn in combatting understeer maybe

manchild
manchild

bizadfar
bizadfar

autoblip.

Ray

It's cause he's Aussie. The greatest peoples I've ever met. They drive on the wrong side of the road and they talk funny. What'd you expect? :lol:

forzasab

Ray wrote:It's cause he's Aussie. The greatest peoples I've ever met. They drive on the wrong side of the road and they talk funny. What'd you expect? :lol:
Heyyyy watch it buster! :evil:

LOL coming from a country where people have a Canadian/American/French accents lol and you say we talk funny! :lol:
Find the line, the speed will come.

DaveKillens
DaveKillens

Applying the throttle actually helps straighten out the car and stabilize it under braking. Of course you give away a wee bit of braking, but especially in difficult, awkward corners, it's better to give away .03 sec than get completely sideways.

Ray

forzasab wrote: