Red Bull RB8 Renault (pre-launch speculation)

A place to discuss the characteristics of the cars in Formula One, both current as well as historical. Laptimes, driver worshipping and team chatter do not belong here.
raymondu999

Red Bull RB8 Renault (pre-launch speculation)

Hey guys. I'm REALLY sorry about opening this thread so early, but hear me out please.

The RB7 is the same family and lineage as the RB6 and RB5. It looks very similar to its two elder siblings, actually. The McLaren for the past 3 years have been rather different, and the Ferraris from F60, to F10 and F150 are somewhere in between in terms of hereditary appearances.

This gives the benefit of stability, and makes past data a bit more relevant to this year's. The drivers are more used to the car too. I don't think McLaren constantly changing the fundamental design principles really gives a good base in terms of starting a weekend, but I'm no pro and I wouldn't know that for sure.

But I'm a firm believer that there's a limit to just how much potential anything can have, and surely, with 2 years of constant evolution and perfecting, the RB7 is close to the limit? I wanted to get some opinions on what people feel - will they go somewhat radical and do something to change the design or just continue on with an evolution?
Last edited by Steven on 06 Feb 2012, 21:49, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Added pre-launch denominator
失败者找理由,成功者找方法

horse

Re: Red Bull RB8

Well I think a lot of resource will be put into uprating the performance and reliability of their KERS (while keeping it small that is). I suspect this is an "easy" (not easy, but there is time to be had) upgrade for the RB8.