Mikey F1 - 2012 Innovations

Post here information about your own engineering projects, including but not limited to building your own car or designing a virtual car through CAD.
MIKEY_!

Mikey F1 - 2012 Innovations

I've been having a few ideas on some innovations for next year but as I have no experience and no access to CFD I'd appreciate some opinions on them.

First up, we know intakes for driver cooling are allowed in the nose tip but could they feed other things as well, like the radiators. I know it's a long way to pipe the air but there is less turbulence around the nose tip and that could allow a smaller intake + less drag. Is that allowed in F1 and would it even work?

Also could you make the front wing like a venturi tunnel (but a lot smaller obviously). Would the lift at the leading edge be to much (thinking of the leverage here) or was this just banned ages ago.

More ideas to come... :D

godlameroso

Re: Mikey F1 - 2012 Innovations

FW's are already diffuser/venturi like far more than resembling a mere aero-foil. What I see happening for next year is all about the main bodywork, the biggest area where teams can gain performance is in the sidepods, and the way the bodywork converges at the rear of the car. Everything is gonna center around tuning the trailing wake vortex of the car with the bodywork, beam wing, and diffuser. The front wing regulations have barely changed since 2009, so most teams have very sophisticated and evolved front wings; in fact, I'll bet that most cars produce far more front downforce than rear. I also see teams pushing the weight distribution towards the rear, since there is no longer a mandated distribution.
Saishū kōnā

Sonic59

Mikey, please, draw pictures.
numbers don't lie

MIKEY_!

Something like this for the FW.

(Cross section, no flaps) Sounds like the current wings aren't very different anyway.

Nose intake is hard to represent in MS Paint :lol: . Think something like this but much bigger.