F1 in schools bearings

Post here information about your own engineering projects, including but not limited to building your own car or designing a virtual car through CAD.
dan217
dan217

F1 in schools bearings

Hello guys so I am new to F1 technical so if I make a mistake please forgive me.

I am taking part in the F1 in schools project and I took part last year as a rookie team this time we really want to win it and are starting to work early and will use the summer vacation to be better equipped.

We used fully ceramic ball bearings but unfortunately they were broken when we raced them the balls fell out in a few of them and in one of them the outer ring was broken. Does that happen often as the bearings were working fine when we sent them to be inspected. So we are looking into other types of bearings like roller bearings as they're more stable.

So which bearings will have lower coefficient fully ceramic radial ball bearings or roller bearings or sapphire jewel bearings?Or perhaps if you have any other suggestion. Other aerodynamic aspects of the car are going very well we are just having trouble over which bearings to use. All responses are greatly appreciated.
Last edited by Steven on 25 May 2012, 23:23, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added punctuation

tok-tokkie
tok-tokkie

Re: F1 in schools bearings

I don't know where you got your bearings. Boca in the US have been used by several successful past competitors.

Mounting the bearing in the wheel with the axle fixed in the body makes the balls run much faster compared to bearing in the body with rotating axle. 1 rev of the wheel makes the balls travel much further if the outer race turns as against the inner race. In your application you are looking for minute reductions in resistance.

dan217
dan217

tok-tokkie wrote:I don't know where you got your bearings. Boca in the US have been used by several successful past competitors.