F1 Turbo cars model(s)

Post here information about your own engineering projects, including but not limited to building your own car or designing a virtual car through CAD.
MadMatt

F1 Turbo cars model(s)

Well, following JMGV196's thread, I thought why not trying too ! Since I'm on holiday at the moment, I have some spare time to have fun with CATIA V5. I won't make full details models because it is VERY time consuming and there are already 3DSmax models which are just unbelievable compared to what I'm doing but that's just "for fun". I don't plan to copy existing cars, but I will use them as inspiration of course.

Maybe I will also try to run some CFD on them if I have time (I'm a MSc student, so not a lot of free time as you can imagine) and I know it won't be accurate because the model is not perfect and so on, but it doesn't matter. Just take this as a recreational topic where I will just express some concept and design ideas from a certain F1 era.

I plan to focus on F1 turbo cars. Why ? Because their design could be simple or complicated, and sometime both at the same time. Let me explain : it was the time when the teams tried many different solutions, either for cooling (sidepods, engine cover, ducts, etc.), engine construction (turbo or not turbo), and so on. So it is an interesting time for design ideas and honestly the cars looked great.

This first message will regroup the models when they are finished. Obviously, as I just started, this message at the moment will contain the current car in its current state. So here is the first one, not finished, but you get the idea !

Hope you'll enjoy, and if I have more time, why not trying to get more serious in these models ! What do you think ?

:)

WhiteBlue

Re: F1 Turbo cars model(s)