My vehicle dynamics web project.

Post here information about your own engineering projects, including but not limited to building your own car or designing a virtual car through CAD.
Kozy

My vehicle dynamics web project.

Hi everyone. I'm not technically 'new' here, but I don't post here very often. Coming back to these pages has made me realise I really should be here more often!

I'd like to share with you a little web project I am working on, called Black Art Dynamics.

Like many people here, I'm a vehicle dynamics enthusiast, although I lack the kind of backgrounds many members here have. I studied Motorsport Engineering to HND level, but then left to take up a job as a design engineer in the rotating machinery industry. Since the HND, I've been learning the subject through self study by mathematical modelling various systems in Excel, and earlier this year I decided to transfer those models into web apps and put together a website to host them as a kind of free resource, also as somewhere to document my progress through the world of vehicle dynamics.

The homepage can be found here: http://www.blackartdynamics.com

So far I've written apps for basic load transfer, brake bias, engine thermodynamics and power train effects on straight line acceleration, and I have a few more in the back catalogue to convert, as well as ideas for future apps

To combine with these, I'm also writing articles explaining them, which incorporate small snippets of the calculations within the posts to create kind of interactive blog posts. Here is the first article I have put together, laying the foundations of tyres and load transfer concepts. http://blackartdynamics.com/Chassis_Art ... ansfer.php

(Please, bear in mind I am attempting to make this information accessible so it is very base level stuff for people here!)