Good books for architecture and civil construction/design?

Post anything that doesn't belong in any other forum, including gaming and topics unrelated to motorsport. Site specific discussions should go in the site feedback forum.
PlatinumZealot

Good books for architecture and civil construction/design?

Yup... I'm a mechanical engineer but of late some of my coworkers have been asking me to draw building plans for them (they don't understand the difference between civil/mechanical engineer/architect), I did only one, but hey, I have been told it's worth a try to get into that sort of thing seriously...

Does any body know any good books on civil contrustion and desing, even architecture? Maybe a recommendation on soil mechanic books would be good too.

Thanks
πŸ–οΈβœŒοΈβ˜οΈπŸ‘€πŸ‘ŒβœοΈπŸŽπŸ†πŸ™

Pup
Pup

Re: Good books for architecture and civil construction/desig

n smikle wrote:I have been told it's worth a try to get into that sort of thing seriously...
The only "serious" way to get into that sort of thing is to get a degree in Architecture. It's a profession for a reason.

Having said that, if you want to learn basic architectural theory, for whatever reason, then probably the best book to start out with is Form, Space and Order by Francis Ching. He also has written a very good primer on basic architectural drafting standards, called Architectural Graphics. And of course you need at least a basic knowledge of building codes and structures if you want to draw anything remotely realistic.

Keep in mind that Architecture is first and foremost an art. Architects borrow from technical fields to do their job, but designing a building that's functional and safe is only step one, however important that step may be.

Don't even think about soil engineering.

PlatinumZealot

I'm blown away by your post. But I will hold back because I might get banned again.
Pup wrote:
n smikle wrote:I have been told it's worth a try to get into that sort of thing seriously...