Programming/Coding Software

Post anything that doesn't belong in any other forum, including gaming and topics unrelated to motorsport. Site specific discussions should go in the site feedback forum.
Spoutnik

Programming/Coding Software

Hi, I would like to learn some kind of programmo,g/Coding things, but idk where I need to start ?
A older friend in last years of engineering studies send me a PDF but I think it's to difficult to start.
You can use this topic for share you achievements. :wink:

Fabien

Re: Programming/Coding Software

Hi,

I am a software engineer, so I guess I can help. What do you want to program ? Anything specific like an android app, an embedded system of some kind (arduino), something web related ?

Otherwise, I would advise you to start by python. It is free, very readable, lots of already build-in stuff that allows to focus on what's more fun to program. For data analysis (since we are on an F1 Forum), there many mathematic and graphic libraries available. There are many tutorials around and a very complete and readable free reference book "Dive into Python".

Greg Locock

Python is relatively easy, high level, interactive, roughly as fast as matlab for number crunching once you've hooked in an in-line compiler (I don't know how but you can), and free.

However it would be pretty damn useless for writing pretty games, so I suggest you need to nominate what sort of thing you want to write.

Spoutnik

How I can learn to use him ?

Actually I'm not going to write games I think, but my friend told me, for the start, it's better to create game and after only some algorythm, website. (I will start with game :wink: )

Fabien

Personnally, when I want to learn a new language, I often start by writing some small games that can be displayed in a console/terminal. For instance a sudoku solver...