What do you know about KERS that most don't?

All that has to do with the power train, gearbox, clutch, fuels and lubricants, etc. Generally the mechanical side of Formula One.
TriXter

What do you know about KERS that most don't?

Hi everyone,

I'm a french automotive engineering student looking for information on the KERS system. I'm not unfamiliar with F1 or other racing series using KERS, and I've found a fair bit of information on energy values, system integration...

So I'm looking for more obscure information that you may have on KERS (books, links, videos, pdfs) explaining more in depth details such as fabrication process, system components, developpement and/or fabrication costs, or anything else really.

Many thanks to those who can help,

Callum

awizul

Re: What do you know about KERS that most don't?

Tommy Cookers

@TriXter

by mapping, current F1 engines are required to produce no more than zero torque when the accelerator pedal is at 0% travel
the engines fuel and air supply controlled exactly to cancel the engine's losses that would then normally give resistance/negative torque

since KERS generation can/will only happen when the accelerator is at 0%
can you tell us, does the 'zero torque' rule include the torque absorbed by the KERS generation ???

thisisatest

Tommy,
I thought it was "less than or equal to zero", no?

bhall

Tommy Cookers wrote:@TriXter

by mapping, current F1 engines are required to produce no more than zero torque when the accelerator pedal is at 0% travel
the engines fuel and air supply controlled exactly to cancel the engine's losses that would then normally give resistance/negative torque

can you tell us, does the 'zero torque' rule include the torque absorbed by the KERS generation ???
It's worded a bit differently.

5.5.3 The maximum accelerator pedal travel position must correspond to an engine torque demand
equal to or greater than the maximum engine torque at the measured engine speed.