Suspension question (I'm a beginner)

Here are our CFD links and discussions about aerodynamics, suspension, driver safety and tyres. Please stick to F1 on this forum.
Tifoso

Suspension question (I'm a beginner)

Hi all,

playing a bit with my RC car I came across a probably amateurish question for which I can't find yet a proper explanation.

The suspension is build up by a coil spring and inside it there is a small cylinder with oil in it. The usual suspensio systems work like that: coil spring and cylinder inside. But what I don't understand is the function of both of them together.

Couldn't the suspensio system run with just a spring? Or just with a oil-cylinder?

Thx in advance

MattF1

Re: Suspension question (I'm a beginner)

The spring absorbs the initial energy of riding over the bumps, but a spring on it's own would mean the car would continue to bounce up and down for a long time. The oil is used to 'damp' the bounces down.

Tifoso

Thanks MattF1, pretty stupid question #-o

HKS

Tifoso wrote:Thanks MattF1, pretty stupid question #-o
Hehe.
Tifoso, in short the damper in used for compression and the spring for it to return to its original position. :wink:
Racing cars are neither beautiful nor ugly, they are beautiful only when you win races.

Tifoso

HKS wrote:
Tifoso wrote:Thanks MattF1, pretty stupid question #-o
Hehe.
Tifoso, in short the damper in used for compression and the spring for it to return to its original position. :wink:
I see, thanks too. Its good to have a forum where someone can anwser this questions.

Ciro Pabón

Well, I'm sure HKS understands how a suspension works, but I'm not sure he was clear enough.

The spring is the whole "structural" member, it supports the car in compression or tension. It would "work" (supporting the car) even without a damper.

What a spring does is to "dissipate", or to "blurr", the effects of the irregularities of the road on the wheels.