F1 in Schools Help - basizeland's project

Post here information about your own engineering projects, including but not limited to building your own car or designing a virtual car through CAD.
basizeland

F1 in Schools Help - basizeland's project

Hi my name is Brett and I have been competing in the F1 in Schools competition for the past 2 years in Australia, this year is my final year that i can participate in the program. So I am trying to put in a huge effort to do the best I can for my final year.

There is three other people in my team that do the jobs of team manager, resource manager and graphic designer. I am the design and manufacturing engineer.

I found this website on the net when i was looking for tips on aerodynamics and i thought that if I post a few pics of our car on this forum someone might be able to give me a few pointers on improving our cars performance.

The program involves us designing, making, testing, racing and analysing our car the cars are only 200mm long and have a minimum weight of 55g. Check out the full rules here: http://www.f1inschools.org.au/pdfs/rule ... ations.pdf.

Here is a few pics of our car

Tell me what you think

Thanks
Brett

bazanaius

Re: F1 in Schools Help

Hi, welcome to the forum!
I'd heard of F1 in schools before, but didn't realise the rules were quite so specific!

Most of my initial comments were made redundant when I read the rules - for example, I'd have run with a single fixed 'rudder' at the rear for stability whilst decreasing drag. this seems prohibited due to the requirement of a rear aerofoil?

How much aero development have you done of this already? It seems like some features are there based upon other information other than hunches/looking nice. For example - the rearmost sidepods (behind the rear wheels) - any reason why they're lower than the top of the wheel? Not that making them the same height is better, I'm just interested why the choice was made.