Im a rookie, so here is a stupid question

Here are our CFD links and discussions about aerodynamics, suspension, driver safety and tyres. Please stick to F1 on this forum.
m3_lover

Im a rookie, so here is a stupid question

I know that in Formula one this year, they mandated the center of gravity for the engine, is that min space that the engine has to be above the ground at all times?
Simon: Nils? You can close in now. Nils?
John McClane: [on the guard's phone] Attention! Attention! Nils is dead! I repeat, Nils is dead, ----head. So's his pal, and those four guys from the East German All-Stars, your boys at the bank? They're gonna be a little late.
Simon: [on the phone] John... in the back of the truck you're driving, there's $13 billon dollars worth in gold bullion. I wonder would a deal be out of the question?
John McClane: [on the phone] Yeah, I got a deal for you. Come out from that rock you're hiding under, and I'll drive this truck up your ass.

As far as I know, there is no requirement for center of gravity. In most cases, engineers prefer to keep it as low as possible. But the FIA rules are very specific about dimensions and clearances.
http://www.fia.com/resources/documents/ ... ATIONS.pdf
Basically, no part of the chassis is allowed less than 50mm from the ground. But there are tons of little rules specifying what parts and dimensions are allowed on different parts of the car. Section 3 covers most of this.

There is a min center of gravity spec for the engine. I think it cannot be less than 150mm. They usually quote this as the spec for the part(i.e. the CoG of the engine cannot be less than 150mm above the crankshaft reference line)

Steven
Owner

2006 regulations concerning your question:

Code: Select all

5.4.3 The crankshaft centreline must not be less than 58mm above the reference plane.
5.5.1 The overall weight of the engine must be a minimum of 95kg.