Tompazis and Ferrari

Here are our CFD links and discussions about aerodynamics, suspension, driver safety and tyres. Please stick to F1 on this forum.
tpe
tpe

Tompazis and Ferrari

Hallo everyone,
I would like to ask your opinion about the return of Tompazis to Ferrari. As a Greek I am very proud of him, of course, but I would like to hear a non bias opition (as well as an expert one?) about his abilities. Here in Greece, Tompazis is (at least to most of F1 funs) a very good engineer, if not one of the top 3. Since I am not an engineer I cannot judge his work, bit definately I have to admit that MP4-2x was a very impresive car (at it's looks of course...).

So, the question is simple: Will he be the Ferrari's weapon for the championship?

I am waiting your answers....

jezzwa

Well you have to admire is track record with ferrari and Mclaren. McLaren had Newey but McLaren dealt with the new aero regs better than most teams and that in itself says something about Tompazis skill. I think his return to Ferrari well defenitely help.
Vote 1 for GPs back in Adelaide

never heard of no tombazis. tombaz was one of about 140 engineers who desined the mp4-20. first he left ferrari because he got better money from mclaren, then he left mclaren because he got better money from ferrari. a man with great loyalty as you can see. and this is the man the greeks are most proud of? please tell me about some of the ones you are ashamed of, im curious :)

No need for that "Mr Guest". Tombazis is a well repected aero man. If he was just one of 150, we would not know anything of him.

bernard
bernard

Very classy comments from Guest again.
But I agree he was only one of the 150 highly skilled designers. I bet that is why Ferrari only hired him as their head designer. Design God would have been the title of a true engineer.