Building my own sportscar (3D model)

Post anything that doesn't belong in any other forum, including gaming and topics unrelated to motorsport. Site specific discussions should go in the site feedback forum.
MadMatt
MadMatt

Building my own sportscar (3D model)

Hello guys !

I had this idea in my head for years now. Always wanted to design my own sportscar more than just on paper. And like a lot here, I spent tons of hours doing this. Now I have some knowledge of 3D modeling, so I finally started !

This project will keep me occupied for few months (my aim is to end it at Christmas) and I will only work on it during my free time (when I'm not doing sport or video games, or more important, work for school which takes lot of time). To design the car, I will use CATIA V5 from DASSAULT SYSTEMES which allows (as you may know) to draw unlimited parts with an extreme level of complexity (they didn't use it to draw F1 cars without reasons).

But why would I build a sportscar ? There are so many on the market at the moment, and very good ones, with innovative technologies and so on ! Well, for the the sportscars are the pinnacle of closed cars. I have always loved the group C cars, so therefore I decided to make some sort of mix between F1 technology/architecture, modern/old sportscar design but still good enough to drive it on the road to get your bread at the local dealer. Of course the car would not be homologated for racing, but for track use it would be perfect ! A good example (the best one to me) of such car can be seen in the Dauer 962 which was a mix of this some 15 years ago, and I decided to take this as an inspiration to make my own sportscar(although the Dauer was based on a race car while my car will be built from scratch).