Martin Whitmarsh elected as new FOTA Chairman

By on

The Executive Committee of the Formula One Teams Association elected Martin Whitmarsh as its new Chairman for the year 2010. Stefano Domenicali will be the Vice Chairman. This leads to the FOTA being led by representatives of the two oldest teams in F1.

Completing the team which will lead FOTA in 2010, Christian Horner takes the role of Chairman of the Sporting Regulations Working Group while Ross Brawn will maintain his role of Chairman of the Technical Regulations Working Group.

The activities of the Commercial Development Working Group will be directly managed by the Executive Committee. All members placed on record their thanks to Luca di Montezemolo for his valuable leadership and remarkable contribution in the successful establishment of FOTA, as well as all the other key figures who contributed greatly to a successful first year. FOTA Teams now look forward to working with Martin Whitmarsh to continue the development of activities in the long-term interest of Formula One, in collaboration with all other stakeholders.

Each member of the association, which now includes all Teams competing in Formula One, is entitled to appoint one representative within the Executive Committee and within each of the standing Working Groups. The different bodies work closely together in order to define FOTA’s objectives and initiatives.

FOTA Statement