Hamilton starts Singaporean GP weekend ahead

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Singapore, Marina Bay Street Circuitsg

Hamilton fastest as the Singaporean Grand Prix weekend kicks off. During FP1 that was only the medium compound tyre in action, the Mercedes driver was 4 tenths ahead of Webber and another 5 tenths quicker than Vettel.

FP1 at Singapore is identical to the only time when driver can enjoy the track with natural light as the skies darken while the session progresses. It didn't seem to bother anyone though, as after the usual installation laps, it took until 27 minutes into the session before a time was set.

Sergio Perez was the first to record a time, followed by both Caterhams. His subsequent times also immediately indicated that the laptimes would be considerably quicker this year than last year, no doubt partly thanks to the removal of the Singapore Sling chicane, now replaced by a left hand turn that is about 40km/h faster.

At the halfway mark, lots of times have already been recorded, and both Red Bull cars unsurprisingly ran a stint with their rear wings covered in flow viz. Just like at Monza, Webber has the left hand side of his rear wing and inside of the endplate painted while Vettel has it the other way around.

After 60 minutes, Lewis Hamilton tops the times with a 1:47.055, 4 tenths ahead of Webber. Vettel is another 5 tenths behind, followed by Rosberg, Raikkonen, Alonso, Vergne, Maldonado, Bottas and Massa.

The final half hour saw little improvements, but some drivers still managed to draw some attention. Mark Webber and Giedo van der Garde for instance shrugged the wall with their right rear wheel while Raikkonen went off at turn 18 and managed to spin his car back on track.


110Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:47.055-20
22Mark WebberRed Bull Racing-Renault1:47.4200.36520
31Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:47.8850.83019
49Nico RosbergMercedes1:48.2391.18423
57Kimi RäikkönenLotus-Renault1:48.3541.29918
68Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:48.3551.30012
73Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:48.3621.30721
86Sergio PerezMcLaren-Mercedes1:49.2672.21220
918Jean-Eric VergneStr-Ferrari1:49.3482.29323
1012Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:49.3552.30021
1116Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Renault1:49.4812.42620
124Felipe MassaFerrari1:49.4932.43816
1317Valtteri BottasWilliams-Renault1:49.5102.45521
145Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:49.6082.55320
1514Paul di RestaForce India-Mercedes1:49.8872.83218
1615Adrian SutilForce India-Mercedes1:50.0923.03720
1711Nico HulkenbergSauber-Ferrari1:50.2223.16717
1819Daniel RicciardoStr-Ferrari1:50.7573.70216
1922Jules BianchiMarussia-Cosworth1:52.3595.30416
2023Max ChiltonMarussia-Cosworth1:52.6735.61815
2121Giedo van der GardeCaterham-Renault1:52.9205.86524
2220Charles PicCaterham-Renault1:53.6476.59223