Solidworks, Help!

Post here information about your own engineering projects, including but not limited to building your own car or designing a virtual car through CAD.
CottrellGP
CottrellGP

Solidworks, Help!

I am new to solid works and when i export my files from sketch up it says i need to select a component, is there anyone that can help me?
Dan Cottrell

Master Of Innovation!

RicME85

Re: Solidworks, Help!

check your mail, have sent a pm from a convo i had with astracrazy, should help

flynfrog

i didn't think you could export files directly from sketchup to SW.

astracrazy
astracrazy

yes you can

you need to get the solid inspector plug in (to make sure you have a complete water tight solid) then get the .stl exporter for sketchup. export your object/solid as an .stl. You can then import the .stl model into solidworks. you have to make sure its a solid else you'll get an error when running the solver

as far as i know thats the best way, i haven't found any other easier way

CottrellGP
CottrellGP

astracrazy wrote:yes you can

you need to get the solid inspector plug in (to make sure you have a complete water tight solid) then get the .stl exporter for sketchup. export your object/solid as an .stl. You can then import the .stl model into solidworks. you have to make sure its a solid else you'll get an error when running the solver

as far as i know thats the best way, i haven't found any other easier way
Ive been exporting as DWG
Dan Cottrell

Master Of Innovation!

astracrazy
astracrazy

ye i first done it like that, but it caused a lot of problems and took up a lot of time. the .stl way is much quicker and easier

CottrellGP
CottrellGP

Does anyone know how to change the direction of the flow trajectories?

thanks
Dan Cottrell

Master Of Innovation!

astracrazy
astracrazy

on this screen you need to select external, then check the two check boxes at the top