Square Go SQ-15(KVRC)

Post here information about your own engineering projects, including but not limited to building your own car or designing a virtual car through CAD.
SquareGo
SquareGo

Square Go SQ-15(KVRC)

Hello everyone. This is my first post and my first time entering the Khamsin Virtual Race Car Challenge. A bit about myself. My name is Ruairidh and I'm a former architecture student from Scotland. I have been interested in motorsport since 1998 and my racing heroes are David Coulthard and Kamui Kobayashi. I normally design fantasy race tracks but after finding this challenge I have decided to give race cars a go.

The philosophy behind the SQ-15 is to try and keep things simple while trying ideas that i've had and improving my CAD skills. The aim is to not finish last as I don't have any experience and only have armchair knowledge of aerodynamics. This probably won't be the final version before the first race as i've yet to use CFD on the car.

CAEdevice

Re: Square Go SQ-15(KVRC)

Welcome Ruairidh!

Your car has good aspect, but there are two things that that you would have better to check.
1) Diffuser: try to use alle the width allowed by the rules (your design is LMP1 compliant, but KVRC is only LMP1 inpried)
2) Rear wing: the big curvature can be interesting to develop, but maybe not so much big

variante

Welcome!

First of all, your car looks kind of fascinating to me...so, well done!

As for a technical point of view:
i agree with CAEdevice...the diffuser is the area you should focus on the most in these last days of development: just try to maximize it.
A curved rear wing is a solution we've seen on many cars, but for different purposes than yours (i guess): unless it's very well studied, that wing wing it's not going to help you, performance wise. Also, you might want to revise the overlaps of the airfoils (you can earn quite a lot from a smart overlap!)