Rosberg leads Raikkonen in second practice

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Spain, Circuit de Catalunyaes

Nico Rosberg has gone fastest in the second free practice session on Friday at Circuit de Catalunya. He edges out Kimi Raikkonen in the Ferrari by 2 tenths. Lewis Hamilton was third fastest, ahead of the second Ferrari steered by Sebastian Vettel.

Carlos Sainz edged out Daniel Ricciardo in the Red Bull, both of them obviously also faster than their new team mates, just like in the morning session.

Fernando Alonso was 7th fastest, finding even more pace compared to the morning, and giving McLaren Honda hopes of a solid weekend and perhaps even further improvements in the coming races. His team mate at McLaren, Jenson Button, had a less fortunate session and ended up in 12th, having had to sit out half of the session as the team was rectifying an electronic issue on the Honda power unit.

Still, he was quicker than Romain Grosjean, probably the most unhappy man of the session as he did not cease to complain about the difficulty to drive his Haas car.

Behind him were Magnussen in the fastest Renault and Daniil Kvyat. The latter completed 44 laps to get more accustomed with his new Toro Rosso, following the switch of teams from Red Bull Racing.

At the back, Gutierrez encountered car trouble that held him aside of the track most of the time. Even with just 9 laps recorded, he split the struggling Sauber cars.


16Nico RosbergMercedes1:23.922-35
27Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:24.176+0.254s31
344Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:24.641+0.719s27
45Sebastian VettelFerrari1:25.017+1.095s35
555Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:25.131+1.209s39
63Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing1:25.194+1.272s37
714Fernando AlonsoMclaren1:25.342+1.420s31
833Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing1:25.375+1.453s31
911Sergio PerezForce India1:25.437+1.515s32
1027Nico HulkenbergForce India1:25.453+1.531s35
1177Valtteri BottasWilliams1:25.708+1.786s30
1222Jenson ButtonMclaren1:25.893+1.971s20
138Romain GrosjeanHaas1:25.899+1.977s33
1420Kevin MagnussenRenault1:26.244+2.322s40
1526Daniil KvyatToro Rosso1:26.375+2.453s44
1619Felipe MassaWilliams1:26.491+2.569s36
1730Jolyon PalmerRenault1:26.770+2.848s16
1894Pascal WehrleinManor1:26.960+3.038s40
1988Rio HaryantoManor1:27.252+3.330s39
2012Felipe NasrSauber1:27.812+3.890s40
2121Esteban GutierrezHaas1:28.205+4.283s9
229Marcus EricssonSauber1:28.501+4.579s42