Raikkonen tops first practice at Sochi

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Russia, Sochi International Street Circuitru

Kimi Raikkonen was fastest during the first practice session at the Sochi Autodrom. He narrowly topped his countryman Valtteri Bottas in a Mercedes as the two Finns led the rest of the field. Lewis Hamilton was third fastest, 6 tenths down on the Finnish leaders.

These three were also the only ones to be within the same second, as fourth fastest, Max Verstappen was 1.1 seconds down on the pace setting Ferrari. Sebastian Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo completed the top 6 which embodied the three major F1 teams of recent years.

Next up is Sergio Perez who appears to confirm that Force India have made strides with their new floor, resolving some of the aerodynamic issues that made the car a struggle in the first few races. The Williams duo led by Felipe Massa are 8th and 9th as Esteban Ocon completes the top 10. The latter did shed an engine cover that caused a brief red flag, but it didn't really cause major issues for him or anybody else on track.

Overall, the session saw reliable running across the board, except for Sergei Sirotkin. The Russian driver was set to complete the session for Renault in place of Nico Hulkenberg, but didn't get more than two laps in before having to return to the pits with technical trouble.

Apart from some spins, including instances from Vettel and Hamilton, Stoffel Vandoorne reported power loss towards the end of the session. Until that time however, both McLarens ran reliably.


17Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:36.074-19
277Valtteri BottasMercedes1:36.119+0.045s24
344Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:36.681+0.607s23
433Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:37.174+1.100s19
55Sebastian VettelFerrari1:37.230+1.156s19
63Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:37.290+1.216s19
711Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:37.457+1.383s29
819Felipe MassaWilliams Mercedes1:37.900+1.826s29
918Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:37.944+1.870s30
1031Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:38.065+1.991s28
1126Daniil KvyatToro Rosso1:38.496+2.422s17
1220Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:38.747+2.673s23
1314Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda1:38.813+2.739s16
1455Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:38.976+2.902s17
1530Jolyon PalmerRenault1:39.158+3.084s16
168Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:39.533+3.459s17
172Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Honda1:39.541+3.467s19
1894Pascal WehrleinSauber Ferrari1:39.731+3.657s21
199Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:40.079+4.005s20
2046Sergey SirotkinRenault--2