Ricciardo heads first practice at Hungary

By on

Daniel Ricciardo ddin't let the first 90 minutes of running at the Hungaroring go to waste, as he ended up the first practice session fastest, leaving him little more than 2 tenths clear of Kimi Raikkonen and another tenth ahead of Lewis Hamilton.

Around the twisty Hungaroring, on which power is less of a differentiator, Max Verstappen was 4th fastest, ahead of Valtteri Bottas.

Sebastian Vettel was 6th in a Ferrari that looked difficult to control throughout the entire session. The Ferrari driver ended up more than a second away of pace setter Ricciardo, and half a second clear of McLaren's duo, headed by Fernando Alonso. Vettel earlier had a moment where he lost control of his Ferrari and went off the track, fortunately for him keeping away from the tyre barriers before making his way back onto the circuit.

The top 10 was completed by Hulkenberg and Palmer in the Renault.

There were more incidents of course, with Vandoorne spinning at Turn 2 very early on in the session, but the biggest problems were to be found at Haas. Romain Grosjean still managed to escape with an undamaged car after touching the tyre wall at Turn 9, but Antonio Giovinazzi - stepping in for Kevin Magnussen - was less fortunate. He went off sideways and ended up in the barriers, requiring a 7-minute red flag situation to clear the bits and pieces off the race circuit.


13Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:18.486-31
27Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:18.720+0.234s20
344Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:18.858+0.372s31
433Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:19.162+0.676s27
577Valtteri BottasMercedes1:19.248+0.762s30
65Sebastian VettelFerrari1:19.563+1.077s21
714Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda1:19.987+1.501s21
82Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Honda1:20.005+1.519s24
927Nico HulkenbergRenault1:20.150+1.664s25
1030Jolyon PalmerRenault1:20.461+1.975s27
1119Felipe MassaWilliams Mercedes1:20.540+2.054s28
1211Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:20.574+2.088s23
1326Daniil KvyatToro Rosso1:20.780+2.294s27
1455Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:20.917+2.431s25
1518Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:20.974+2.488s29
168Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:21.313+2.827s20
1734Alfonso CelisForce India Mercedes1:21.602+3.116s24
189Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:21.785+3.299s31
1950Antonio GiovinazziHaas Ferrari1:22.251+3.765s8
2094Pascal WehrleinSauber Ferrari1:22.490+4.004s29