FP3: Ricciardo rules, Verstappen crashes

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Monaco, Monte Carlo Circuitmc

Red Bull Racing were again in a class of their own in final practice at Monaco, with both Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen trading places at the top of the timesheet. Next up is the Ferrari duo of Vettel and Raikkonen, followed by Mercedes.

It wasn't all good news for Red Bull Racing though, as with just 8 minutes left on the clock, Verstappen made another costly error and went into the barriers in nearly identical fashion to his 2016 crash. He clipped the inside barriers on the final corner of the swimming pool complex, breaking the steering rod and sending him into the barriers on the exit of the corner. The right front was completely gone. It would later result in Verstappen missing out on qualifying as mechanics were unable to get his car repaired in 2 hours time.

Valtteri Bottas's session had ended early as well, as his attempt to spin out of the Ste. Devote run-off caused damage to the rear end of his Mercedes. The damage was minor, but enough to keep him sidelined.

Behind the top 6, Toro Rosso surprised as Brendon Hartley claimed 7th ahead of his team mate Pierre Gasly. Both men were less than a second down on the pace setting Red Bull. Carlos Sainz continued a strong run for Renault while Sergey Sirotkin completed the top 10, once again considerably outpacing his team mate Stroll.

At the back, Haas continued to struggle and saw both their cars sandwished in between Leclerc's and Ericsson's Sauber cars.


13Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:11.786-23
233Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:11.787+0.001s14
35Sebastian VettelFerrari1:12.023+0.237s23
47Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:12.142+0.356s26
544Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:12.273+0.487s26
677Valtteri BottasMercedes1:12.356+0.570s27
728Brendon HartleyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:12.752+0.966s25
810Pierre GaslyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:12.761+0.975s23
955Carlos SainzRenault1:12.850+1.064s24
1035Sergey SirotkinWilliams Mercedes1:12.854+1.068s23
112Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Renault1:12.874+1.088s25
1231Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:12.940+1.154s23
1311Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:13.025+1.239s22
1427Nico HulkenbergRenault1:13.112+1.326s26
1514Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Renault1:13.279+1.493s25
1618Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:13.595+1.809s26
1716Charles LeclercSauber Ferrari1:13.644+1.858s25
188Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:13.881+2.095s21
1920Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:14.192+2.406s20
209Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:14.221+2.435s28