FP2: Ferrari maintain advantage, Leclerc fastest

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Germany, Hockenheimringde

The second practice session for the German GP saw Charles Leclerc go fastest overall. As he was a tenth ahead of Vettel, Ferrari continued to have both its cars ahead of the competition.

As temperatures continued to soar on Friday, Ferrari appeared unbeatable on the soft tyres. In fact, Leclerc outpaced Vettel with a lap that wasn't fastest in any of the sectors, with some minor traffic delay in S3 preventing an even better time.

Championship leader Lewis Hamilton remained in touch with the leading Ferraris, and might be looking forward to further improvements as lower temperatures on Saturday and Sunday should play into Mercedes' hand.

Valtteri Bottas was fourth fastest, but half a second off his team mate, and only marginally quicker than Max Verstappen. The latter's team mate struggled throughout the session and eventually crashed in the final corner of his 19th lap, bringing out the red flags.

Romain Grosjean was again the fastest Haas F1 Team driver, putting in a strong showing for 6th fastest with his Melbourne spec VF-19. Kevin Magnussen, with a car equipped with all latest upgrades, was considerably slower in 18th.

Lance Stroll kept Racing Point into the top 10, followed by Raikkonen, Hulkenberg and Perez.


116Charles LeclercFerrari1:13.449-33
25Sebastian VettelFerrari1:13.573+0.124s30
344Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG1:13.595+0.146s30
477Valtteri BottasMercedes AMG1:14.111+0.662s30
533Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda1:14.133+0.684s23
68Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:14.179+0.730s33
718Lance StrollRacing Point BWT Mercedes1:14.268+0.819s32
87Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:14.458+1.009s33
927Nico HulkenbergRenault1:14.472+1.023s26
1011Sergio PerezRacing Point BWT Mercedes1:14.518+1.069s30
1155Carlos SainzMcLaren Renault1:14.662+1.213s34
1226Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:14.800+1.351s39
133Daniel RicciardoRenault1:15.010+1.561s33
1423Alexander AlbonScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:15.062+1.613s36
1510Pierre GaslyRed Bull Racing Honda1:15.089+1.640s19
164Lando NorrisMcLaren Renault1:15.247+1.798s29
1799Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:15.406+1.957s31
1820Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:15.470+2.021s28
1963George RussellWilliams Mercedes1:16.900+3.451s27
2088Robert KubicaWilliams Mercedes1:16.980+3.531s26