FP3: Leclerc stays ahead, Hamilton crashes off

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Belgium, Circuit de Spa-Francorchampsbe

The final practice session at Spa-Francorchamps before qualifying was dominated by Ferrari. The scarlet cars continued to lead the field, with Leclerc edging out Vettel by 0.451s.

As Ferrari continued to dominate this weekend's proceedings, Valtteri Bottas was closer than ever, leaving less than a tenth on the table compared to Vettel.

Bottas's team mate at Mercedes, Lewis Hamilton ended up just 7th, as he crashed off and caused a 16-minute stoppage of the session. Hamilton lost the rear of his Mercedes W10 at the entry at Turn 12, sliding partly sideways into the barriers. Though Hamilton was unhurt, the impact caused considerable damage to the front and left hand side of his car, leaving his mechanics a lot of work to get the car sorted before qualifying.

Daniel Ricciardo was a surprise 4th in the standings, topping former team mate Max Verstappen into fifth in the Red Bull.

Sergio Perez ended up 6th, despite having switched back to the older specification Mercedes power unit in his Racing Point RP19. Raikkonen and Giovinazzi put Alfa well into the top ten, with them indeed powered by new Ferrari engines, while the Scuderia opted not to fit them this race, and instead introduce them at Monza.


116Charles LeclercFerrari1:44.206-9
25Sebastian VettelFerrari1:44.657+0.451s12
377Valtteri BottasMercedes1:44.703+0.497s11
43Daniel RicciardoRenault1:44.974+0.768s10
533Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda1:45.312+1.106s11
611Sergio PerezRacing Point Bwt Mercedes1:45.521+1.315s12
744Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:45.566+1.360s4
87Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:45.659+1.453s13
999Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:45.688+1.482s13
1010Pierre GaslyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:45.752+1.546s15
118Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:45.806+1.600s15
1227Nico HulkenbergRenault1:45.855+1.649s11
1320Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:46.004+1.798s15
1455Carlos SainzMcLaren Renault1:46.017+1.811s14
154Lando NorrisMcLaren Renault1:46.270+2.064s13
1618Lance StrollRacing Point Bwt Mercedes1:46.379+2.173s11
1726Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:46.642+2.436s13
1863George RussellWilliams Mercedes1:47.858+3.652s14
1988Robert KubicaWilliams Mercedes1:48.350+4.144s14
2023Alexander AlbonRed Bull Racing Honda1:50.681+6.475s14